top of page
  • Writer's pictureLambs Rugby

Lambs name side for Crawshay’s Welsh challenge

The ISRFC Lambs have named their side for their third game of the season, against Crawshay’s Wlesh at Methyr RFC at 2pm on Saturday.

The Lambs lost their opening game of the season to Irish Exiles but since then they secured a fantastic 60-12 victory at London Scottish, now they travel to Wales with a side stacked full of new faces.

Only three of the starting fifteen against London Scottish start again, Millfield’s Alfie Gibson is at tighthead for his third Lambs cap, while Louis Fielden of Wellingborough starts in the second row for the second game running, earning his second cap.

Meanwhile in the backline St Edward’s Oxford’s Archie Nicholson moves from the wing to full back to earn his second cap. Moving into the right wing, where Nicholson was, is Trent College’s Thomas Wilkins, who makes his debut. Meanwhile on the left wing Hurstpierpoint College’s Josh Loach comes in for his second cap having started on the bench against Irish Exiles.

The centre pairing are both uncapped, West Buckland’s Magnus Carter-Burns at outside centre and King’s Macclesfield’s Angus Fiennes. There is another debutant alongside them in the midfield, New Hall’s Charlie Dearman at fly half, while at scrum half Alessandro Aliberti of Shebbear College earns his second cap after starting against London Irish.

Lambs captain Owen Jones returns to the number 8 shirt, the King’s Macclesfield started their against Irish Exiles before a stint on the bench against London Scottish, so too vice captain Tyler Tomlinson, earning his third cap and starting on the blindside. Woodhouse Grove’s Harry Green makes his debut at openside.

With Fielden starting again in the second row, he is joined by Dean Close’s Harvey Dickenson, who started in the Lambs’ season opener, meanwhile alongside Gibson in the front row is Queen Ethelburga’s Joseph Sawdon, whose first cap came off the bench against London Scottish, Bradford Grammar’s Thomas Handy returns at loosehead after missing the London Scottish game.

The includes four players that started the last game, Alex Smith, Thomas Walsh, Daichi Budiman, and William Perry, meanwhile William Vanderpuye of The Oratory is on the bench for the second game running.

Max Loboda returns to the squad after being on the bench against Irish Exiles, while Tommy Evans and Ben Thewlis return to the squad after starts against the Irish Exiles. King’s Gloucester’s Jack Corry is set to make his debut when he comes on.

Speaking ahead of the game the Lambs’ National Director, Alex Laybourne, said:

“This is a hugely exciting game for both sides, and one that is always full of ambitious running rugby. There are a number of new faces, alongside some of those who have experienced playing fast and free during the January fixture and I am excited to see what that blend will produce in terms of on field performances.”

“Travelling to Wales is never easy but I know that the individual players are capable of on their day and I am thoroughly looking forward to seeing it in action.”

Following Saturday’s game the Lambs play their final game of the home season on Sunday 17th February at Boys Club of Wales. They then face a bit of a break before departing on their Easter tour of South Africa on Thursday 4th April.

ISRFC Lambs XV v Crawshay’s Welsh – Saturday 9th February, 2pm, Methyr RFC

15 Archie Nicholson (St Edward’s, Oxford), 14 Thomas Wilkins (Trent College), 13 Magnus Carter-Burns (West Buckland), 12 Angus Fiennes (King’s Macclesfield), 11 Josh Loach (Hurstpierpoint College), 10 Charlie Dearman (New Hall), 9 Alessandro Aliberti (Shebbear College), 1 Thomas Handy (Bradford GS), 2 Joseph Sawdon (Queen Ethelburga’s), 3 Alfie Gibson (Millfield), 4 Harvey Dickenson (Dean Close), 5 Louis Fielden (Wellingborough), 6 Tyler Tomlinson (Felsted, vc), 7 Harry Green (Woodhouse Grove), 8 Owen Jones (King’s Macclesfield, captain).

Replacements: 16 Alex Smith (Millfield), 17 Max Loboda (Rossall), 18 Tommy Evans (KCS Wimbledon), 19 Thomas Walsh (Taunton), 20 Jack Corry (King’s Gloucester), 21 Daichi Budiman (Exeter), 22 William Perry (Taunton), 23 William Vanderpuye (The Oratory), 24 Ben Thewlis (Ashville College).



bottom of page