top of page
  • Writer's pictureLambs Rugby

Lambs Easter Tour Preview

The Lambs depart for their traditional Easter tour on Thursday, heading to South Africa for the first time in the invitational side’s history.

The tour will see the Lambs take part in the Kingswood College Festival in Grahamstown, playing three fixtures there before heading to Cape Town where they will face one of their greatest challenges in the form of Western Province.

23 players will be on tour, which departs on Thursday 4th April, landing in Port Elizabeth on Friday 5th, and landing back at Heathrow on Monday 15th April.

The squad, compromising twelve forwards and eleven backs from seventeen different schools, will play an Eastern Cape Invitational XV on their first game at the Kingswood Festival on Saturday 6th April.

The following day is an off day including a Safari Game Drive, before a real challenge on Monday 8th April against a Kenyan Combined Schools XV. Again the following day is off before the final game of the Kingswood Festival, against St Andrews College on Wednesday 10th April.

The squad then has a one day stop at Mossel Bay before moving on to Cape Town and a trip to Table Mountain on Friday 12th April ahead of the massive game against Western Province on the Saturday, with which the Lambs will sign off the tour, catching their flight home the next day.

King’s Macclesfield’s Owen Jones will captain the squad, and experience Lamb, and his schoolmate Angus Fiennes joins him in the squad. Felsted’s Tyler Tomlinson will serve as one of his vice-captains, Wisbech Grammar School’s Jack Trundley being the other. Trundley is one of three Wisbech Grammar pupils in the squad, George Lemon and Henry Hoyles are the other two.

Millfield have two players in the squad, Alfie Gibson and Alexander Smith, so too Taunton School with William Perry and Thomas Robert Walsh. Trent College meanwhile are represented by Harry Finney and Thomas Wilkins.

In the back Kirkham Grammar School’s Joshua Jones is selected alongside Bradford grammar’s Thomas Handy and Stamford’s Lochlan Dudley. Alongside them will be Queen Ethelburga’s Joseph Sawdon, Wellingborough’s Louis Fielden, and Ipswich School’s Max Robertson.

Meanwhile in the backline New Hall’s Charlie Dearman and West Buckland’s Magnus Carter-Burns are both in the squad, so too Exeter School’s Isaac Budiman, Pluymouth College’s Marcus Rayworth, and Shebbear College’s Alessandro Aliberti.

Speaking ahead of what should be a memorable tour, Lambs National Director Alex Laybourne said:

“This is a very exciting tour for this seasons squad; a squad that have shown a lot of Lambs ‘Fast and Free’ flair and ability over the season – not just with the Lambs but also with their schools and at the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s!”

“It is the first time we have ventured to South Africa and with it the opportunity to take on Kenyan Schools and Western Provence it will be a huge test, but also an unforgettable experience for those travelling. What is really important is that the Lambs tours always provide lifelong memories and friendships and we expect nothing less this year!”

2019 ISRFC Lambs South Africa Tour Schedule Highlights:

Thursday 4th April – Tour Departs (Heathrow-Port Elizabeth)

Friday 5th April – Tour Arrives, Dinner at Kingswood College, Grahamstown, hosts of Kingswood Festival

Saturday 6th April – Lambs v Eastern Cape Invitational XV

Sunday 7th April – Game Drive

Monday 8th April – Lambs v Kenyan Combined Schools XV

Tuesday 9th April – Revision & Recovery

Wednesday 10th April – Lambs v St Andrews College

Thursday 11th April – End of Kingswood Festival, Tour moves to Mossel Bay

Friday 12th April – Tour moves to Cape Town. Excursion to Table Mountain

Saturday 13th April – Lambs v Western Province (& trip to Robben Island)

Sunday 14th April – Tour Returns

Monday 15th April – Tour Arrives in London

2019 ISRFC Lambs South Africa Touring Squad

Forwards (12):

Thomas Handy (Bradford Grammar)

Henry Hoyles (Wisbech Grammar)

Lochlan Dudley (Stamford)

Alfie Gibson (Millfield)

Alexander Smith (Millfield)

Joseph Sawdon (Queen Ethelburga’s)

Louis Fielden (Wellingborough)

Max Robertson (Ipswich)

Owen Jones (King’s Macclesfield, captain)

Joshua Jones (Kirkham Grammar)

Tyler Tomlinson (Felsted, vice-captain)

Thomas Robert Walsh (Taunton)

Backs (11):

Harry Finney (Trent College)

Alessandro Aliberti (Shebbear College)

Charlie Dearman (New Hall)

Magnus Carter-Burns (West Buckland)

George Lemon (Wisbech Grammar)

Isaac Budiman (Exeter)

Angus Fiennes (King’s Macclesfield)

Marcus Rayworth (Plymouth College)

Jack Trundley (Wisbech Grammar, vice-captain)

Thomas Wilkins (Trent College)

William Perry (Taunton)



bottom of page